Four Granite State Teachers win national award

New Hampshire Education Commissioner Frank Edelblut recently congratulated a quartet of New Hampshire teachers who were recognized with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Winners for 2017 and 2018 include:

  • Elise Catalano, who received the award for her work at Rye Junior High and now teaches seventh-grade math at Cooperative Middle School in Exeter.
  • Angela Lennox, who recently retired from Exeter High School. This is her second time receiving the PAEMST.
  • Bryan Smith, a fourth-grade teacher at Bethlehem Elementary School.
  • Gregory Snoke, a sixth-grade teacher at Captain Samuel Douglass Academy in Brookline.

Established by Congress in 1983, the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States.

Categories: News